Dragon Age Timeline

Dragon Age Timeline – Everything in Chronological Order

Throughout the years, the chronological order of Dragon Age got quite complicated. The first two games take place at approximately the same time, while expansions, books, comics and moves expand the series’ timeline even further. To help Dragon Age fans understand the vast and intricate lore behind the franchise, we compiled this Dragon Age Timeline.

We may earn a commission for purchases using our links.

The Dragon Age universe follows an age system that divides history into distinct periods. Each age is named after a significant event or theme that defines that particular era and last for 100 years. The current age in the series is the titular Dragon Age, the ninth age so far. All games and most tie-in media take place in this Dragon Age. The date format in the Dragon Age universe consists of the age and the year, for example 9:00 marks the first year of the Dragon Age

This comprehensive Dragon Age timeline includes all the games and tie-in media in chronological order and divided into distinct eras. As some media take place synchronously, we also provide the year(s) a story takes places. In some cases, the actual year is never mentioned, so we made an educated guess of when exactly a story takes place.

Prelude to the Fifth Blight

Dragon Age Chronological Order

This era covers the events that set the stage for the Fifth Blight, starting with the political turmoil in Ferelden during the events of “The Stolen Throne” and “The Calling,” the struggles of the Grey Wardens in “Warden’s Fall,” and the life of Cassandra Pentaghast in “Dawn of the Seeker.”

The Fifth Blight and its Aftermath

Dragon Age Origins Timeline

This era covers the events during the Fifth Blight in Ferelden and the subsequent events that unfold. The origins of the protagonist, the rise of the Champion of Kirkwall, and the expansion of the Grey Wardens in Ferelden are covered in this era.

The Inquisition

Dragon Age Inquisition Timeline

This era focuses on the events surrounding the Inquisition’s formation, the fight against Corypheus, and the aftermath, including the rise of new threats and shifting political landscapes across Thedas.


Dragon Age Dreadwolf Timeline

The upcoming fourth installment in the series, Dragon Age: The Veilguard, will take place sometime after Dragon Age: Inquisition – Trespasser. The comicbook Dragon Age: The Missing will serve as a prequel to the upcoming game.

Various or unknown

For some media, it is almost impossible to pinpoint when exactly they take place on the Dragon Age timeline. And then there is Dragon Age: Tevinter Nights, an anthology book featuring a collection of short stories written by various authors, exploring various aspects of Thedas. Here, we list all the media that take place at various or unknown places in the timeline.

This Dragon Age Timeline has been composed with as much care as possible. Nevertheless, an error may have crept into our chronological order. Are you an even bigger Dragon Age fan than we are? Please contact us and tell us what we did wrong!

Lars Cornelis

Lars is a game journalist since 2005. He loves virtual adventures and appreciates a good story, whether told through environmental storytelling or deep lore. He has a large collection of books and comics based on his favorite games, like Halo, Assassin's Creed, and Metal Gear Solid.

One Response

  1. Thank you so much for this. I have played all the games but had no idea where to start with books and comics! Great article. I’m sure I will be referring back to it a lot.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *