Home > Timeline > Horizon Timeline – Everything in Chronological Order

Horizon Timeline – Everything in Chronological Order

The chronological order of Horizon becomes increasingly more complicated as the series grows. The Horizon series is mainly known for its games, Zero Dawn and Forbidden West, but it also includes an expansion, ongoing comic book series, and even a board game. With the expansion, comic books, and board game further expanding the universe, it might be hard to determine the chronological order of Horizon and where to start. That’s why we created this Horizon Timeline, including the games Horizon Zero Dawn and Horizon Forbidden West, the expansion, comic books, and the board game.

This entry was updated in September 2021.

Let’s first start with a list of all Horizon games, in order of release.

  1. Horizon Zero Dawn (2017)

    Released on PlayStation 4.

  2. Horizon Zero Dawn: The Frozen Wilds (2017)

    Expansion for the original game on PlayStation 4.

  3. Horizon Forbidden West (2022)

    Released on PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 5.

Now we place the games in the complete Horizon Timeline, along with the comics. We’ve arranged all media in the Horizon universe in chronological order as far as possible. However, due to flashbacks, time jumps, or stories that take place over a longer period of time, that’s not always feasible. In that case, we use an order that is as logical as possible.

Horizon Zero Dawn

Horizon Zero Dawn Comic

The original hit video game Horizon Zero Dawn was released in 2017, developed by Guerrilla Games exclusively for PlayStation 4. It was later that year followed by the expansion The Frozen Wilds. The game was released on pc in 2020, including the expansion. The Frozen Wilds takes place during the events of the original game, although it is up to the players whether they play it before or after the main game’s end.

In 2020, the Horizon Zero Dawn comic book series kicked off. Its first arc, The Sunhawk, takes place after the game. The second story arc however, Liberation, takes place during the events of the game. The comic book series is written by Guerrilla Games’ narrative director Ben McCaw and writer Anne Toole.

Although it’s not story-heavy, even Horizon Zero Dawn: The Board Game is considered canon. The co-operative tabletopgame takes place after the game.

Horizon Forbidden West

Horizon 2 Forbidden West

In 2022, Guerrilla Games will usher in a new chapter with the release of Horizon Forbidden West for PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 5. Horizon Forbidden West will be released on February 18, 2022.

This Horizon Timeline has been composed with as much care as possible. Nevertheless, an error may have crept into our chronological order. Are you an even bigger Horizon fan than we are? Please contact us and tell us what we did wrong!

Lars Cornelis

Lars is a game journalist since 2005. He loves virtual adventures and appreciates a good story, whether told through environmental storytelling or deep lore. He has a large collection of books and comics based on his favorite games, like Halo, Assassin's Creed, and Metal Gear Solid.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *